Image: Unsplash

University of Warwick hands out set of honorary degrees

The University of Warwick has announced the list of individuals it is awarding honorary degrees this year.

Pauline Black OBE, Ska singer and founding member of the band The Selecter, will receive an honorary degree in Literature.

The band, who are based in Coventry, have released five UK top40 singles, including ‘Too Much Pressure’.

Black is a longtime Coventry resident, having lived in the city for over 50 years. The musician is still performing and recently played at the opening ceremony of Coventry’s City of Culture celebration.

Charles Adeogun-Phillips is also on the list. He is a former Head of Special Investigations at the UN and was lead prosecutor at the International Criminal Tribunal in Rwanda. Philips served in this latter role for 12 years.

Philipps received his bachelor’s degree from Warwick in 1992, and today runs his own legal company.

“I am delighted to have the opportunity to honour these figures, who have had a vast and valuable impact both internationally and at home.”

–Vice Chancellor of the University of Warwick, Stuart Croft

Vice Chancellor of the University of Warwick, Stuart Croft, commented on the honorary degrees: “All those being awarded Honorary Doctorates from the University of Warwick this year have made immense contributions to public life in a range of fields, from prosecutors of international war criminals to science and engineering innovators, leaders of multinational businesses, cultural and music pioneers, and experts in education and public policy.

“I am delighted to have the opportunity to honour these figures, who have had a vast and valuable impact both internationally and at home.”

According to Warwick’s official press statement, those receiving honorary degrees also include:

  • Mathematician Ian Stewart who gained his PhD from Warwick in 1970, and engineering and leading motorsport figure Mike O’Driscoll, who gained an MBA at Warwick in 1989.
  • Keith Bedell-Pearce CBE has been connected with the University of Warwick for more than 50 years, having gained an MSc as part of the second-year intake of the fledgling Warwick Business School in 1969. He will receive the Chancellor’s Medal.
  • Baroness Warwick, General Secretary of the Association of University Teachers from 1983-1992, Chief Executive of Universities UK from 1995-2009, and current chair of trustees for International Students House will receive her honorary doctorate on 21st July.
  • John Witcombe, the Dean of Coventry Cathedral will be handed an honorary doctorate to add to his Master’s in Philosophy in Practical Theology. John’s work at Coventry Cathedral has included navigating significant challenges in moving the Cathedral towards financial sustainability. He also played a key role in Coventry’s City of Culture 2021 bid and delivering the programme of events.
  • Andrew Morris’s extensive work in medical science, public health, and chronic diseases sees him become an Honorary Doctor of Science, along with automotive and aerospace expert Allan Cook CBE, as well as Cindy Rose OBE, President of Microsoft Western Europe.
  • Further honorary doctorates will be awarded to filmmaker Mike Downey, economist and former Ofcom Chief Executive Sharon White, immersive technology expert Catherine Allen, and mobile telecommunications leader Mike Short CBE.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.