Image: Ana Clara Paniago

Conservative Jeremy Wright wins Kenilworth and Southam

Conservative candidate Jeremy Wright has been re-elected Member of Parliament for Kenilworth and Southam.

Wright was elected with 31,207 votes and 60.8% of the vote. Labour’s Bally Singh took second place with 13,121 votes and 25.6% of the vote. The Conservative majority – 21,002 in 2015 – fell to 18,806.

Wright defeated five candidates to win the election – Singh (Labour), Rob Ballantyne (Green Party), Harry Cottam (UKIP) and Richard Dickson (Liberal Democrats).

Labour’s saw their share of the vote increase by 10.3% of the total share, benefiting from UKIP’s decline with Harry Cottam receiving only 929 votes. Nevertheless this was not enough to challenge Wright’s majority.

Wright has represented the seat (one of the safest Conservative seats in the country) since its creation in 2010 – in 2015, he won 28,474 votes (58.4%). In the 2014 cabinet reshuffle, he was appointed Attorney General by then-Prime Minister David Cameron, (and re-appointed in 2016 by Theresa May).

Kenilworth & Southam saw a very high turnout of 77.4%, up from 74.8% in 2015.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.