Image: The Boar

Campaigning starts for next Warwick SU Sabbatical Team

Campaigning for this year’s Students’ Union Spring Elections started at 9am this morning, with voting for candidates opening at 9am on Wednesday 1 March.

The full-time 7 Sabbatical Officer roles are up for grabs, alongside the wide range of Part-Time Officer roles as well as Warwick’s delegates for the National Union of Students (NUS) Conference.

The most hotly contested Sabbatical positions are President and Democracy and Development, with 4 candidates standing for each. Postgraduate Officer, meanwhile, follows the precedent of last year, with only 1 person in the running.

A variety of Part-Time Officer roles also only have a single candidate, including LGBTUA+ Officer and Women’s Officer. 17 students, meanwhile, are running to be Warwick’s NUS delegates,

Election Week, culminating with the “Big D” (Big Decision) on Friday, sees campus covered in cardboard as a means of publicity. Candidates also do lecture shoutouts, hall tours, and social media campaigns.

Hustings will be taking place for the roles of Societies Officer, Welfare and Campaigns Officer, Education Officer and Postgraduate Officer on Monday 27, at 5pm in the Atrium.

The remaining roles of President, Sports Officer and Democracy and Development Officer will see hustings taking place on Tuesday 28 February, again in the same time and place.

The results of the week will be announced on Friday 3 March.

On her Facebook page, current Democracy and Development Officer Becky Gittins commented: “Campaigning has officially begun for the Spring Elections! I couldn’t be more proud of the efforts that candidates have taken to prove to you that they should be the next SU Officers.

She added: “The power is in your hands to decide the next SU officer team, voting opens on Wednesday at 9am.”

Candidate List

President: Alex Bevis, Hok Chiu, Tom Jepson, Hope Worsdale
Education Officer: Liam Jackson, Behram Khan
Democracy and Development Officer: Ellie King, Michael Kynaston, Felix Ling, Sebastian Randell
Postgraduate Officer: Emily Dunford
Societies Officer: Niall Johnson, Patrick Lavery, Katie Shanahan
Sports Officer: Sophie Foreman, Ellie Martin
Welfare and Campaigns Officer: Sara Boiten, Ellen Holmes, Naomi Hyde

You can see the full list of candidates and their manifestos, including for Part-Time roles, here.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.