Image: / Unsplash
Image: / Unsplash

Warwick recognised as leading university in cyber security research

Three new Academic Centres of Excellence in Cyber Security Research (ACE-CSR) have been acknowledged, which highlights that the UK is leading in cyber security.

The University of Kent, King’s College London, and the University of Cardiff joins 14 other institutions – including the University of Warwick – in making the UK’s online platform safer and supporting the country’s digital economy.

These universities will be realised as ACE-CSRs until June 2022. There are now 17 academic centres across England, Scotland, Northern Ireland, and Wales, which saw its first ACE-CSR this year.

Other institutions recognised by the National Cyber Security Centre (NCSC) include the universities of Birmingham, Cambridge, and Edinburgh.

The ACE-CSR programme is supported by the government’s £1.9 billion National Security Strategy (NCSS) 2016-2021. All of the universities involved can bid for funding for doctoral-level cyber research, which entails attending annual conferences and workshops.

Their research aims to tackle mass marketing fraud and better understand the criminals involved by developing a deeper knowledge of cyber security, and identifying potential gaps and risks.

Minister for Digital Margot James said: “We have some of the best minds in the world working in the field and thanks to this scheme they can now help shape our NCSS and develop the talent and services of tomorrow.”

Chris Ensor, deputy director for Cyber Security Skills and Growth, commented: “The UK has world-class universities carrying out cutting edge research into all areas of cyber security.

“It’s fantastic to see three more universities recognised as Academic Centres of Excellence and I’m especially pleased that we now have centres in all home nations.

“The NCSC looks forward to collaborating with these institutions to make the UK the safest place to live and work online.”

Related Posts


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *