Join Our Team

The Boar is the University of Warwick’s awarding-winning students’ newspaper. With a new edition and 3,000 copies published every two weeks, a reach of nearly 12,000 students on campus and thousands more online, we are one of Warwick’s most successful societies. We are always looking for new writers to join our team, but now we have an exciting opportunity for anyone interested in journalism: we are recruiting deputy editors for all our sections in the newspaper. As well as that, we have open spots in our Business Team! The first thing you need to do is buy a membership through the SU website. Then, join our official Facebook group.

Editorial Team – Deputy Position

Becoming a deputy editor for any section within The Boar will mean you are responsible for ensuring the quality of the overall paper and making amendments where necessary to sections prior to publication. Also, supporting the editor in laying up the paper and aiding in the overall management of the section. To apply, email the relevant section with 150-300 words explaining why you would be the best person for the job.

News

Editors: Sarah Morland & Daniel Ruben

Email: news@theboar.org

Comment

Editor: Matt Allen

Email: comment@theboar.org

Features

Editor: Branca Lessa de Sa

Email: features@theboar.org

Lifestyle

Editor: Katie Sewell

Email: lifestyle@theboar.org

Finance 

Editors: Chiara Castrovillari & Stanley Smith

Email: finance@theboar.org

Arts 

Editor: Imogen Cooper

Email: arts@theboar.org

Books 

Editors: Jess Holt and Lucy Armitstead

Email: books@theboar.org

Film 

Editor: Ilia Maniki

Email: film@theboar.org

Games

Editors: Josh Hatcher & Matilda Smith

Email: games@theboar.org

Music

Editor: Matea Fadiga

Email: music@theboar.org

TV

Editor: Reece Goodall

Email: tv@theboar.org

Science & Tech

Editor: Amy Kynman

Email: science@theboar.org

Travel

Editor: Zoe Morrall

Email: travel@theboar.org

Sport 

Editor: Alex Jennings

Email: sport@theboar.org

Business Team

Sales 

You will be assisting the Head of Sales and Director of Business in securing advertising and building professional relationships with companies interested in The Boar. You will help manage the ins and outs of the mechanics behind our paper and how it works as a business.

sales@theboar.org

Business

The business deputies will be involved in various aspects of the Boar‘s commercial operations, and will have the chance to gain an insight into the financial planning of one of Warwick’s biggest societies

business@theboar.org

Marketing

As a Marketing Deputy you will be assisting with the creation of campaigns, competitions and marketing strategies to promote our paper. The role also focuses on The Boar’s brand and visual identity, so skills in Photoshop and other design software will aid your success.

marketing@theboar.org

Social Media

Are you fluent in gifs? Then this may be the perfect position for you. The social media team manages all of The Boar‘s accounts, like Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

communications@theboar.org

Multimedia

Our multimedia team is in charge of making “Boar Bites” videos every fortnight. If you’re interested in photography and video-making, then this is the job for you.

multimedia@theboar.org